New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Finalists

The annual Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards is taking place in Auckland on 10 September this year. 

This prestigious occasion celebrates outstanding achievements in thoroughbred racing during the 2016/17 season. 

Some of the biggest racing stars and hopeful finalists will gather at the Langham in Auckland for the awards ceremony.


Champion two-year-old

  • Gold Fever
  • Melody Belle
  • Summer Passage.

Champion three-year-old 

  • Bonneval
  • Gingernuts
  • Jon Snow
  • La Diosa
  • Ugo Foscolo.

Champion sprinter (up to 1500m)

  • Kawi
  • Saracino
  • Signify
  • Start Wondering.

Champion middle distance (1501m-2100m)

  • Kawi
  • Thee Auld Floozie
  • Volkstok'n'barrell
  • Willie Cazals.

Champion stayer (2101m and further) 

  • Bonneval
  • Chenille
  • Chocante
  • Gingernuts
  • Jacksstar
  • Jon Snow
  • Lizzie L'Amour.

Champion Jumper

  • Amanood Lad
  • D’Llaro
  • Kick Back
  • Ngario
  • Raisafuasho
  • Sea King
  • Upper Cut

Find out more and buy tickets to the New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards

Leave a comment

Upcoming events

Get ready to race!
Find an event near you:

New Zealand Cup and Show Week - 11 - 18 November - Christchurch

Christmas at the Races -12 November - 24 December - Nationwide

Latest tweets